The 2023 Harvey municipal primary election results

The city's 2nd and 3rd Ward primary results are in with all of the city's precincts reporting. Here's who made the April 4 runoff.

A file photo of Harvey City Hall, as shown October 17, 2021. HWH / Amethyst J. Davis
A file photo of Harvey City Hall, as shown October 17, 2021. HWH / Amethyst J. Davis

Harvey’s primary election results are in.

Only 2nd and 3rd Ward candidates were on the ballot for this year’s primary. In only the cases where there are four or more candidates in a given race, candidates partake in a primary.

If no candidate gets more than 50% of the vote, the top two vote share-getters proceed to an April runoff election.

With all of the city’s precincts reported, here’s the rundown on which 2nd and 3rd Ward candidates made the April 4 race.

Chapman and Vhora to face off

In the 2nd Ward race, Colby Chapman, who unsuccessfully ran for alderwoman in 2019, will face off against Yarif Vhora in the April 4 runoff.

If elected, Vhora would become the first Indian alderman in Harvey’s history.

There were 341 total votes cast, with Chapman clinching the lead with 34.90% of the vote share. Vhora closely followed with 32.55% of the vote share.

Antonia McBride, a former Harvey public library director, received an endorsement from Mayor Chris Clark, but even that couldn’t give McBride the push needed to make the runoff.

Here’s the vote share breakdown of the other candidates:

  • Former Harvey interim library director Antonia McBride, third place: 12.32%
  • Albert Abney, fourth place: 8.80%
  • Melvin M. Bond, fifth place: 6.74%
  • Angelette Taylor, sixth place: 4.69%

The 2nd Ward is home to many of the city’s civic institutions, including City Hall, the Harvey Pace Bus Transportation Center, 154th Street Metra Station, Harvey Park District headquarters, and the city’s only library.

Covering the most land mass of any ward, its boundaries extend from 152nd to 171st Streets between Ashland and Lathrop Avenues.

Incumbent Telanee Smith to defend seat

Appointed by Clark last April following the resignation of aldermen Quinton Crudup, Alderwoman Telanee Smith (3rd) will defend her seat against Mauzkie Ervin in April.

There were 307 total votes cast. Smith led with 32.25% of vote share, followed by Ervin, who received 19.87% of the vote share.

Ervin is a former Harvey Public Library Board trustee.

The election results of the other candidates:

  • Jeffery T. Maxey, third place: 13.68%
  • Former Harvey community center director and current West Harvey-Dixmoor District 147 board member Bonnie Rateree, fourth place: 13.36%
  • Shahnawaz Hasan, owner of Harvey-based American Kitchen Delights, Inc., fifth place: 11.07%
  • Current Harvey School District 152 board member Myra Gardner, sixth place: 9.77%

The 3rd Ward is home to Harvey Police Department headquarters and Ingalls Memorial Hospital, the city’s largest private employer.

Its boundaries extend from 151st to 161st Streets between Western and Ashland Avenues.

Sign up for The Renaissance Letter, our free email newsletter

Get the latest headlines from the Harvey World Herald right in your inbox.

Read past editions

More in Politics from The Harvey World Herald